Advisory board

The Institute is advised by a board of researchers and experts drawn from the faculty of the University of Regina and the wider research community associated the university. The Advisory Board provides input and advice to the Director of the Institute.

Dr. Christopher Yost Canada Research Chair; Microbes, the Environment and Food Safety

Cell Molecular Sciences
Department of Biology, University of Regina

Dr. Kyle Hodder Director; Prairie Environmental Process Laboratory

Earth Sciences
Department of Geography, University of Regina

Dr. Gordon Huang Canada Research Chair; Energy and Environment

Environmental Engineering
Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science, University of Regina

Dr. Gordon Huang is a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Energy and Environment, and Executive Director of the Institute for Energy, Environment and Sustainable Communities at the University of Regina, Canada. He holds BSC from Peking University (China), MSc from Simon Fraser University (Canada) and PhD from McMaster University (Canada). Since the 1990s, Huang has led or been involved in over 150 environment-related research projects, produced over 700 peer-refereed international journal papers , and supervised over 100 Master/PhD students. He is the president of the International Society for Environmental Information Sciences. He also acts (or acted) as editor-in-chief for 2 international journals and editorial board member for over 10 journals, and was conference chair or keynote speaker at over 40 international events. He has also served the United Nations Development Programme as Chief Scientist for the Program of Rural Water Resources Management and Drinking Water Safety. His pioneering work in environmental risk management has been recognized as a significant innovation, and has influenced government and business approaches for tackling environmental challenges and formulating related policies.

Dr. Christopher Somers Canada Research Chair; Genes and the Environment

Environmental Sciences
Department of Biology, University of Regina

Dr. David Alexander Director of Virology

Health Sciences
Saskatchewan Disease Control Laboratory

Dr. Kathleen McNutt Director

Public Policy
Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Regina

Dr. Cory Butz Associate Dean — Research

Faculty of Science
Department of Computer Science, University of Regina

Cory J. Butz received his Ph.D. degree in computer science from the University of Regina, Regina, SK, Canada, in 2000. He then joined the School of Information Technology and Engineering at the University of Ottawa, Ottawa, ON, Canada, as an Assistant Professor. In 2001, he returned to the Department of Computer Science at the University of Regina, where he now holds the rank of Professor and serves as the Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies) in the Faculty of Science. Currently, he is Vice President of the Canadian Artificial Intelligence Association / Association pour l'intelligence artificielle au Canada (CAIAC). His research findings on Bayesian networks have drawn invitations to visit Google, MIT, and the University of Cambridge.

Sally Gray Director

Office for Research, Innovation, and Partnership
Office for Research, Innovation, and Partnership, University of Regina